logo logo

 Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 
Importing Areas "on-the-run"

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    nwnx.org Forum Index -> Windows development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wart



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:59    Post subject: Importing Areas "on-the-run" Reply with quote

Is there a way (nwnx windows plugin) to directly "upload" an area into a pw without restarting the entire module?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baaleos



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 816

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes
Use nwnx_resman + nwnx_areas

When you request LoadArea from areas, it will automatically try to find the area based on the content in the external sources directory.
So it allows you to upload areas to the server via ftp, and then call a script in the module to create the area.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wart



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 2:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

Intresting.
i'm already using the nwnx_areas plugin to create istances (copies of an original area).

Which files are required to be uploaded for areas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baaleos



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 816

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:54    Post subject: Reply with quote

3 files

are, git and gic

I believe the are contains the area data - tiles etc

git and gic contain information about encounters, items, placeables and creatures that are painted within the areas.
So if you exclude those two files - then you will get an empty area.

Note:
Depending on the version of nwnx_resman you use..
You may or may not have to have the git and gic and are files in a folder called
are within externalsources...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wart



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:48    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a problem.

Resman loads only the .are file and ignore the other 2 files (they are all located in the resources directory)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baaleos



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 816

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

create a subfolder called are
then put a copy of the 3 files in there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wart



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

Already Tried. the plugin simply does not find the files. (i'm using the Windows version)

Maybe i use an old version?
Can you point me to the correct one? (compiled dll)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baaleos



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 816

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 18:31    Post subject: Reply with quote

The version I am using -

0.0.2.0

My INI has this

[RESOURCEMANAGER]
MaxLogSize = 512 ; in KByte
LogLevel = 1 ; 0= nothing, 1=Resource Manager specific info, 2=list of all loaded resources
; Where Resource Manager loads the scripts from. Note the trailing backslash.
SourcePath = externalsources\

And then inside the externalsources\ I have

externalsources\are

I put my are files in the externalsources folder,
but then I duplicate the are and the 2 accompanying files in the are subfolder.

I've had inconsistent behavior where if I put the files 'only' in the are folder, then it doesnt see the are file.
But if I put them all in the externalsrcs folder, then it only sees the are.
I just put clones of them all in both folders.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wart



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe it's the nwnx_area plugin?
So far i used to the create cpies of "standard" areas and works well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wart



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:04    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried to put the 3 files in externalsource AND externalsource/are but qwhen i call the script

#include "nwnx_areas"

void main()
{
object oArea = AREAS_CreateArea("examplearea");
AREAS_SetAreaName(oArea,"[EXTERNAL SOURCE] " + GetName(oArea));
}

it keeps using only the .are files, leading to an empty area
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baaleos



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 816

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 11:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the logs contain anything descriptive?
Eg: resman logs
areas logs etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wart



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 15:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing usefull.
the resman just sayd it load an external resoucer (the .are file) and nothing (NOTHING) about the other 2 files.

the nwnx_areas just said he creates an area.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baaleos



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 816

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 15:40    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sent you a link to my nwnx_resman a few days ago - no reply.
Maybe no notification on inbox?

Let me know if it worked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DarkSet



Joined: 06 Jun 2016
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:44    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Can you share nwnx_area plugin? Compiled dll. I've got one, but all it can do is crush my server on area creation attempt. I suppose it's not a real purpose of the thing Smile

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    nwnx.org Forum Index -> Windows development All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group