logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mod Conversion

Post new topic   Reply to topic    nwnx.org Forum Index -> Windows technical support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Red

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 7:12    Post subject: Mod Conversion Reply with quote

I have a quick question about converting my mod to properly use NWNX. This is more than likely a foolish question, I am one of those self taught types.

I have NWNX running, which I acquired via the HGLL system, and all seems well.

My question relates to Campaign Int's and the APS GetPersistant functions.

While looking at those, and salivating, a question came to mind.
I came across this bit.

Code:
        // If you want to convert your existing persistent data to APS, this
        // would be the place to do it. The requested variable was not found
        // in the database, you should
        // 1) query it's value using your existing persistence functions
        // 2) save the value to the database using SetPersistentString()
        // 3) return the string value here.

Which, if I understand correctly, is a good spot to do something like this.
Code:

int iValue = GetCampaignInt("Master","slave");
SetPersistentInt(oPWObject, "NewSlave", int iValue, string sTable = "pwdata");

Converting that camp int to the aps system.

Should I convert all my Get/Set camp checks and such that I am currently using in my mod to the APS persistent functions?
could I perhaps just do both?

Just so I am clear, as finding the correct question can sometimes be just as difficult as finding the answer, once I saved any data I want in this fashion should I then go into my mod and change every Set/Get CampInt to Set/GetPersistant functions?
Is that faster, or better, or even something I can do?