logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

NWNX_System override

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ilerien

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:17    Post subject: NWNX_System override Reply with quote

It's my first attempt to supplement NWNX plugin. The extension is currently very simple, but somebody might find it useful. Also, I'm going to extend system plugin further.

I'm bored with players complaining about unfair randomizer. It's known that NWN use pseudorandom number generator (possibly like this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linear_congruential_generator) with seed depending on area parameters, so it's quite "nonrandom" Smile My function (TrueRandom()) takes random numbers directly from entropy pool (/dev/urandom). I've tested repeatedly its results and found that expectation & variance (and several other probability distribution characteristics) were noticeably closer to those of uniform distribution than expectation & variance of default randomizer.

Link: http://nwn.virusman.ru/svn/nwnx2-linux/branches/ilerien-system-override/
Download link (ZIP): http://nwn.virusman.ru/trac/nwnx2-linux/changeset/294/branches/ilerien-system-override?old_path=%2F&format=zip

A thousand thanks to virusman for consultation Smile
Paul R

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks good, I know there have been various implementations of random number functions, even using MySQL.

Just curious why you did it as a branch rather than as a patch to the trunk? Reason I'm asking is that there have been some useful additions such as this and the per player visual effects and timer bar but have been done as separate bits of code rather than extend the main branch.