logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Got NWNX towork with the internal DB but not MySQL

Post new topic   Reply to topic    nwnx.org Forum Index -> Windows technical support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FunkySwerve

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 17:37    Post subject: Got NWNX towork with the internal DB but not MySQL Reply with quote

Ok, been at this awhile now. I got everything installed by following the documentation provided with each download. Without too much trouble, I was able to get nwnx up and running with the demo mod. I tested it, and the object persistence worked - 3 items stored, 3 retrieved.

Now, because I want to setup linked servers, I am trying to do the same with MySQL. A word of caution: I've never used MySQL before, so I may be missing something obvious to longtime users. I installed MySQL using their built-in installer, the newest version - 4.1.12a-nt. It is installed as a service. I also installed the MySQL administrator. I went through their instruction manual, and was able to create databases, tables and so on. I made a database named 'nwn'. So far so good. All versions of nwnx and plugins are the most current, downloaded from this site.

Now, I tried to switch NWNX over to use MySQL. The only thing I could see that needed changing was the nwnx.ini file, the 5 lines under MySQL in particular. I first set host to 'localhost', user to 'root', and the pass to the root password. I set the database to 'nwn'.Now in the demo mod, I switched from the internal database scripts to the MySQL scripts in both instances, as instructed. These were the ONLY changes I made.