View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Papillon x-man
Joined: 28 Dec 2004 Posts: 1060 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 21:01 Post subject: How to run NWNX4 as a service |
|
|
Prototype 1.05 introduces a new way to run NWNX + NWSERVER: Service mode!
This means NWNX4 can run as a Windows service, which offers the following benefits:
- Automatic start of NWNX4 when Windows starts
- No need to log on to the Desktop
- You can switch users on the desktop as you like without interrupting the server
- Support for multiple instances of NWNX4 running multiple servers on the same computer
Later on, there will be a GUI to control the creation, starting, and stopping of services. Right now, the prototype accepts the following command line parameters:
Code: | NWN Extender 4 Server Controller V.0.0.1
(c) 2006 by Ingmar Stieger (Papillon)
visit us at http://www.nwnx.org
Valid parameters are:
-serviceno Specify service instance number
-startservice Start the NWNX service
-stopservice Stop the NWNX service
-installservice Install the NWNX service
-uninstallservice Uninstall the NWNX service
-interactive Start in interactive mode |
In order to run NWNX4 as a service, issue the following commands:
NWNX4_Controller.exe -installservice
NWNX4_Controller.exe -startservice
NWNX4 will show up as a Windows service, which can be started and stopped just as you would expect. If you want to see the nwserver dialog window, go to
Control Panel - Administration - Services - NWNX4 Service 1
switch to the Logon tab, and check the "desktop interaction" box. Note: This is from the top of my head, I'm not exactly sure about the english translation - but you get the point, I hope.
There is a new setting in nwnx.ini which controls where the temporary files, including the logs, are created. This is especially important in service mode, where the user that runs the server usually is the "local system" account. To set the directory, open nwnx.ini and adjust the following parameter:
Code: | # You can override the tempory path NWN2 uses
# This is where NWN2 will put its logfiles (among other files)
# no default
nwn2temp = D:\Projekte\NWNX4svn\bin\dist
|
This is a totally new feature, so I would like to get your feedback on it ! _________________ Papillon |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mostal
Joined: 29 Apr 2005 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 16:40 Post subject: |
|
|
great job....
when server crash, I receive C++ error window...do you think nwnx4 service, with watchdog enable, could close and restart nwn2server in these conditions ?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Urlord
Joined: 17 Nov 2006 Posts: 122
|
Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 17:41 Post subject: |
|
|
Is it a NWServer issue or NWNX4 issue that causes the module not to start if it has been saved as a Directory? I am thinking that it is a NWServer issue. _________________ Jim (aka, Urlord)
Visit the Persistent World of Nymri |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Grinning Fool
Joined: 12 Feb 2005 Posts: 264
|
Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 17:57 Post subject: |
|
|
That's an nwserver issue, I've been running into the same.
You have to copy the directory to your NWN install path\modules; then when launching nwnx (or nwserver directly) you have to manually select the directory module from the dropdown -- it will be at the bottom of the list.
I've been looking for some kind of 'start directory' parameter to pass into the server, but no luck so far. _________________ Khalidine, a NWN2 persistent world
Looking for volunteers. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Der Phobos
Joined: 07 Nov 2006 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 21:44 Post subject: |
|
|
I gotta say, this is so rockin it isnt funny. Awesome job. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Will_Constantine
Joined: 12 Aug 2007 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 14:00 Post subject: |
|
|
Does anyone know how I could implement this into firedaemon? the startup parameters and such? as firedaemon automatically installs the service and all. this is very handy if i can figure it out thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ballestolive
Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 22 Location: FRENCH
|
Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 14:41 Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
Could someone explain how we give rights to find enough for the service can get the characters on a network disk?
Thank you. I am in windows 2003 server. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Papillon x-man
Joined: 28 Dec 2004 Posts: 1060 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 23:52 Post subject: |
|
|
You need to go into the Windows services control panel, open the NWNX Service properties, switch to the second tab, and then configure the service to run as a user with sufficient rights for whatever you want to do. _________________ Papillon |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ballestolive
Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 22 Location: FRENCH
|
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 21:40 Post subject: |
|
|
Hello Papillon,
Ok thank, i make this and the user is the administrator, but its don't work ??? You have another idea? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Papillon x-man
Joined: 28 Dec 2004 Posts: 1060 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 21:20 Post subject: |
|
|
Did you try to log in as that user and then access the network share ? If it works interactively, it should work as a service. _________________ Papillon |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ballestolive
Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 22 Location: FRENCH
|
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 21:24 Post subject: |
|
|
I was not user account on that machine, only one admin account. But anyway we encounter another problem with the use of the repertoire servervault which has no access either. So no backup players.
It redefined our strategy server.
I wish you aware if necessary. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
loudent2
Joined: 23 Feb 2008 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:03 Post subject: won't load the module |
|
|
I went through and got everything running as it should, however the service does not automatically load the module. It starts the NWSwerver program just fine and all the settings are there, but it won't actually load the module the way the GUI does.
Any thoughts? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Betah
Joined: 30 Jan 2008 Posts: 1 Location: Wales
|
Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 17:59 Post subject: |
|
|
If you keep the module in the My Documents\Neverwinter Nights 2\modules then nwserver.exe wouldn't find it due to being logged in as a different account, the c:\Program Files\Atari\Neverwinter Nights 2\modules\ seems to be fine though. _________________ -Dan |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Energia
Joined: 05 Jun 2006 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Fri May 23, 2008 13:47 Post subject: Re: won't load the module |
|
|
loudent2 wrote: | I went through and got everything running as it should, however the service does not automatically load the module. It starts the NWSwerver program just fine and all the settings are there, but it won't actually load the module the way the GUI does.
Any thoughts? |
Same problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Urlord
Joined: 17 Nov 2006 Posts: 122
|
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 18:34 Post subject: |
|
|
I cannot seem to get NWNX4 version 1.09 to install as a service on a 64-bit machine running Windows XP-64.
Any ideas guys? _________________ Jim (aka, Urlord)
Visit the Persistent World of Nymri |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|