logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Noob question on compiling Windows DLLs from source

Post new topic   Reply to topic    nwnx.org Forum Index -> Windows technical support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sethan

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:47    Post subject: Noob question on compiling Windows DLLs from source Reply with quote

Need instructions on how to complie Windows DLLs for NWNX from source.

Downloaded source from SVN.

Installed VS 2008 Express...

From here on, I get lost.

What instructions I can find either are for earlier versions of VS, where most things seem to be named differently and be in different places, or they are for VS2008 and are for creating different types of DLLs.

Amusingly, as a complete noob in Linux, I was able to compile everything for Linux fairly easily - but having worked in Windows for 30 years, Microsoft is confounding me.
Baaleos

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

some common build errors

Somtimes you will get a build error that says that the path or directory doesnt exist. - Regarding to something like c:\games\

I've noticed that some of the plugins, have a Post Build event, that attempts to copy the dll to the original developers nwn game directory.

Remove this build event, and it gets rid of that error.

Other ones include an error around an #include "afx....h" (cant remember the exact name)
Renaming this include file to be #include "windows.h" solves it for me.
Sethan

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 15:04    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good info, and thanks for it. If I ever get far enough to get those sorts of build errors, at least I'll know what to look for.