logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

storing/retreiving object ok in sqlite but not mysql

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lucky Day

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 1:52    Post subject: storing/retreiving object ok in sqlite but not mysql Reply with quote

Noob here on using SQL databases with NWN (always used persistent objects on the character instead). I was looking for a similar topic but I can't find it. Maybe you can point me in the right direction if this has been asnwered before.

In the aps_demo module I can get the sqlite DB to store and retrieve an object fine but not with mysql.

I'm using mysql 5.5.8 on Win7 x64. Retrieving a variable works fine in mysql. Viewing the table in sqliteCC looks fine but in mysql there's a lot of junk in there, at least from the command line (here it is from phpMyAdmin)

player tag name val expire last
    ~ Chest1 Item_0 [BLOB - 1.7KiB] 0 2011-08-06 16:12:24
    ~ Chest1 Item_1 [BLOB - 1.8KiB] 0 2011-08-06 16:12:24
    ~ Chest1 Item_2 [BLOB - 2.9KiB] 0 2011-08-06 16:12:24

sqlite looks identical but it says UTI V3.28 under va

I've updated to Zebranky's versions but the same issue is happening. Is there a problem with the create table in the demo mod?

thanks
Terra_777

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 16:54    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I'm not mistaken "blobs" are regarded as files in MySQL and requires global file privileges for the user handling them. You could also change the variable type to TEXT(or LONGTEXT), could work if you don't feel like tossing file privs around.

Quote:
ALTER TABLE 'tablename' CHANGE 'columnname' 'columnname' LONGTEXT NULL DEFAULT NULL