View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Wart
Joined: 13 Jun 2012 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:59 Post subject: Importing Areas "on-the-run" |
|
|
Is there a way (nwnx windows plugin) to directly "upload" an area into a pw without restarting the entire module? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Baaleos
Joined: 02 Sep 2007 Posts: 830
|
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:51 Post subject: |
|
|
Yes
Use nwnx_resman + nwnx_areas
When you request LoadArea from areas, it will automatically try to find the area based on the content in the external sources directory.
So it allows you to upload areas to the server via ftp, and then call a script in the module to create the area. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wart
Joined: 13 Jun 2012 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 2:26 Post subject: |
|
|
Intresting.
i'm already using the nwnx_areas plugin to create istances (copies of an original area).
Which files are required to be uploaded for areas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Baaleos
Joined: 02 Sep 2007 Posts: 830
|
Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:54 Post subject: |
|
|
3 files
are, git and gic
I believe the are contains the area data - tiles etc
git and gic contain information about encounters, items, placeables and creatures that are painted within the areas.
So if you exclude those two files - then you will get an empty area.
Note:
Depending on the version of nwnx_resman you use..
You may or may not have to have the git and gic and are files in a folder called
are within externalsources... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wart
Joined: 13 Jun 2012 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:48 Post subject: |
|
|
I have a problem.
Resman loads only the .are file and ignore the other 2 files (they are all located in the resources directory) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Baaleos
Joined: 02 Sep 2007 Posts: 830
|
Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:52 Post subject: |
|
|
create a subfolder called are
then put a copy of the 3 files in there |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wart
Joined: 13 Jun 2012 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:55 Post subject: |
|
|
Already Tried. the plugin simply does not find the files. (i'm using the Windows version)
Maybe i use an old version?
Can you point me to the correct one? (compiled dll) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Baaleos
Joined: 02 Sep 2007 Posts: 830
|
Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 18:31 Post subject: |
|
|
The version I am using -
0.0.2.0
My INI has this
[RESOURCEMANAGER]
MaxLogSize = 512 ; in KByte
LogLevel = 1 ; 0= nothing, 1=Resource Manager specific info, 2=list of all loaded resources
; Where Resource Manager loads the scripts from. Note the trailing backslash.
SourcePath = externalsources\
And then inside the externalsources\ I have
externalsources\are
I put my are files in the externalsources folder,
but then I duplicate the are and the 2 accompanying files in the are subfolder.
I've had inconsistent behavior where if I put the files 'only' in the are folder, then it doesnt see the are file.
But if I put them all in the externalsrcs folder, then it only sees the are.
I just put clones of them all in both folders. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wart
Joined: 13 Jun 2012 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2016 19:29 Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe it's the nwnx_area plugin?
So far i used to the create cpies of "standard" areas and works well. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wart
Joined: 13 Jun 2012 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:04 Post subject: |
|
|
Tried to put the 3 files in externalsource AND externalsource/are but qwhen i call the script
#include "nwnx_areas"
void main()
{
object oArea = AREAS_CreateArea("examplearea");
AREAS_SetAreaName(oArea,"[EXTERNAL SOURCE] " + GetName(oArea));
}
it keeps using only the .are files, leading to an empty area |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Baaleos
Joined: 02 Sep 2007 Posts: 830
|
Posted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 11:19 Post subject: |
|
|
Does the logs contain anything descriptive?
Eg: resman logs
areas logs etc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Wart
Joined: 13 Jun 2012 Posts: 45
|
Posted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 15:03 Post subject: |
|
|
Nothing usefull.
the resman just sayd it load an external resoucer (the .are file) and nothing (NOTHING) about the other 2 files.
the nwnx_areas just said he creates an area. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Baaleos
Joined: 02 Sep 2007 Posts: 830
|
Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 15:40 Post subject: |
|
|
Sent you a link to my nwnx_resman a few days ago - no reply.
Maybe no notification on inbox?
Let me know if it worked |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DarkSet
Joined: 06 Jun 2016 Posts: 98
|
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:44 Post subject: |
|
|
Hi.
Can you share nwnx_area plugin? Compiled dll. I've got one, but all it can do is crush my server on area creation attempt. I suppose it's not a real purpose of the thing
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|