logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Looping through a small database

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Smolin

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 18:26    Post subject: Looping through a small database Reply with quote

I'm pretty new to building in NWNX: I've been maintaining a few systems on our PW, but this is the first project that I've really begun from scratch. I've gotten a lot farther than I thought I'd be able to, but have gotten stymied on a small problem with apostrophes.

My database tracks about 17 deities & their number of worshippers. I need to loop through the data, entry by entry, and retrieve the number of worshippers for each deity. (Deities on rows, worshippers on columns)

I got it working... mostly. It returns the names and values for the first 8 or 9 deities in my database, but it gets hung up when it hits a name with an apostrophe.

I'm sure there's a way to use SQLEncodeSpecialCharacters() to fix it, but I'm not smart enough. Sad

Here's what I have so far:

Code:

#include "aps_include"

// Returns deity name from row number?
string DeityLoop(string sPlace, string sTable, int nCount)
    {
    string sCount = IntToString(nCount);
    string sSQL = "SELECT deity FROM " + sTable + " LIMIT " + sCount + ",1";
    SQLExecDirect(sSQL);
        if(SQLFetch())
            return SQLGetData(1);
        else
            return "";
    }

// Returns number of worshippers for given deity?
string DeityPop(string sPlace, string sTable, string sDeity)
    {
    string sData;
    string sSQL = "SELECT " + sPlace + " FROM " + sTable + " WHERE deity='" + sDeity + "'";
    SQLExecDirect(sSQL);
    if( SQLFetch() == SQL_SUCCESS)
            {
            sData = SQLGetData(1);
            return sData;
            }
    else