logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A noob question on a script

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mavryek

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 20:21    Post subject: A noob question on a script Reply with quote

I am using the VG system for factions and I would like to lock down some doors and gates based on player factions.

The script that sets a players faction is straight forward but I am very new to scripting and therefore do not know what edits need to be done to make a script that looks at the players faction and if equal to the one the door is looking for it will open or unlock for them. Any help would be great. Here is a copy of the script that shows how the faction is set on the PC.

#include "vg_factions_inc"
void main()
{
object oPC = GetPCSpeaker();
object oGuildJournal = GetItemPossessedBy(oPC,"pgs_item_journal"); // Guild Journal Used to store region
SetLocalString(oGuildJournal,"Region","01");
// Set up the factions if factions are turned on.
if (GetLocalInt(GetModule(),"Factions")==1)
{
SetOrigFaction(oPC,12);
JoinFaction(oPC,12);
}
}
Squatting Monk

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:26    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I'm not familiar with the system you're talking about (if you could give me a link to it on the Vault I could look into it some more), but one of the things to remember is that PCs don't belong to factions. Now, you could set a persistent int that identifies them with a group, but it won't involve any of the functions you'd use when checking factions normally.

The script in question is a conversation script and has nothing to do with unlocking doors. If I were to design a script to do what you're saying, though, it would go on the OnUsed event and look something like this...

Code:

#include "aps_include"