View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
SSJeol
Joined: 16 Aug 2007 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:26 Post subject: Re: Net Override (not really an NWNX plugin) (version 1.0) |
|
|
acaos wrote: |
In addition, this module statically compiles in DNS for the Bioware and Gamespy servers. We've had problems in the past on Higher Ground where we were unable to get DNS for them, and it led to the servers pausing for 30 seconds or more every few minutes. This prevents that issue.
Acaos |
Do you know if putting the DNS entries in /etc/hosts also works? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
acaos
Joined: 08 May 2007 Posts: 153
|
Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:22 Post subject: |
|
|
It does. Due to our hosting arrangements we were unable to do that ourselves.
Acaos |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Campbell
Joined: 29 Jul 2008 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:01 Post subject: Need help with the netoverride |
|
|
How exactly do I implement this? The other plugins I just put in the same NWN folder, but when I start the server, it doesn't say anything about the netoverride plugin being activated like the others do. Also there isn't a netoverride log like all the other plugins in my logs folder. I've only been using Ubuntu the past 6 months as a server so I'm still learning about it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fireboar
Joined: 17 Feb 2008 Posts: 323
|
Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:24 Post subject: |
|
|
In nwnstartup.sh, add the name of the new library to the line:
export LD_PRELOAD=./nwnx2.so
You need to separate them with colons, so the new line might look like:
export LD_PRELOAD=./nwnx2.so:./netoverride.so |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Campbell
Joined: 29 Jul 2008 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:33 Post subject: |
|
|
Since I've been using this, the server doesn't seem to show up in the server list. People can still get to it from their history though. In the serverlog it says:
GameSpy Server Error: Unable to query the server. You may need to open port 5124 for incoming traffic.
In my netoverride on loading the server it has the message:
resolving nwn.master.gamespy.com
The module is working as the log shows it bind and release the addresses. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
acaos
Joined: 08 May 2007 Posts: 153
|
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:13 Post subject: |
|
|
I'll check the module to look into this tomorrow. Thanks for the report.
Acaos |
|
Back to top |
|
|
acaos
Joined: 08 May 2007 Posts: 153
|
Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:09 Post subject: |
|
|
I've updated this to 1.1, which should fix the issue with the plugin not properly registering on Gamespy. Please let me know if you still have issues.
Acaos |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Campbell
Joined: 29 Jul 2008 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 0:34 Post subject: |
|
|
Works great now. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Emnric
Joined: 08 May 2009 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 5:31 Post subject: |
|
|
I had someone that wanted to log on my server, but couldn't:
Code: | [2009-12-17 22:18:16] rejected invalid login from 173.169.***.***:5119 [v19] |
What is the problem with his login? Then he just changed his port to 5120 and it worked. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Paul R
Joined: 17 Apr 2009 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 15:24 Post subject: |
|
|
I've had that before on one login (from someone I know as well so could ask some questions about their client) it was being rejected as it was listed as v19 and the code wanted v20 and over only.
Code: | [2009-04-20 23:11:19] rejected invalid login from 24.xxx.xxx.xxx:33606 [v19] |
I had thought it was part of the client header info (version) so changed it to include that as well incase there was something weird about how he had done his client side patching.
Did the latter successful login still have v19? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Emnric
Joined: 08 May 2009 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 16:05 Post subject: |
|
|
After changing his port, the login is "v20" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
maddogfargo
Joined: 03 Nov 2009 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 23:35 Post subject: |
|
|
5119 and 33606 are valid client ports? _________________ * illegible scribble * |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Skywing
Joined: 03 Jan 2008 Posts: 321
|
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:31 Post subject: |
|
|
Yes. Most probably, the user is behind a NAT device as this is quite common.
A better solution to this problem would be to backport the rewritten networking layer that I injected into NWN2 back to NWN1 ( http://www.nwnx.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1455 -- see http://nwn.virusman.ru/trac/nwnx4/browser/branches/skywing-dev/src/plugins/xp_bugfix/NetLayer.cpp for source, AuroraServerNetLayerWindow source linked from nwnx-dev mailing list). This will fix this (and other various) issues with the UDP reliability layer. The underlying problem here is in code shared between NWN2 and NWN1, so a backport wouldn't be too much work for someone with NWN1 symbols (Zebranky?).
The code should be trivially portable to linux nwnx2 as well. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
driller
Joined: 23 Mar 2009 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 0:41 Post subject: |
|
|
I have tried this plugin(1.1). When I use it, my server will not show up in the Gamespy list. The log error is: "No challenge value was received from the master server".
Thanks,
-driller
acaos wrote: | I've updated this to 1.1, which should fix the issue with the plugin not properly registering on Gamespy. Please let me know if you still have issues.
Acaos |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Vladiat0r
Joined: 17 Jun 2005 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:18 Post subject: |
|
|
driller wrote: | I have tried this plugin(1.1). When I use it, my server will not show up in the Gamespy list. The log error is: "No challenge value was received from the master server".
Thanks,
-driller
acaos wrote: | I've updated this to 1.1, which should fix the issue with the plugin not properly registering on Gamespy. Please let me know if you still have issues.
Acaos |
|
I have this exact same problem. "GameSpy Server Error: No challenge value was received from the master server." in the nwserverLog1.txt file.
These seem to be the right IPs...
ping nwmaster.bioware.com
PING nwmaster.bioware.com (204.50.199.9) 56(84) bytes of data.
ping nwn.master.gamespy.com
PING nwn.master.gamespy.com (69.10.30.248) 56(84) bytes of data. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|