logo logo

Back to main page

The NWNX Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How far can NWN(X) go?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lewisham

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 11:52    Post subject: How far can NWN(X) go? Reply with quote

Hey guys,
I've never used or developed in NWN, and you guys seem to know all there is to know about scripting it, so I was hoping you could help me out!

I'm a student investigating different RPG games that I can modify in order to do some research on a "drama manager", basically an AI program that modifies the world the player inhabits in order to make a better player preference. In order to do that, it needs to be able to modify the world's objects and NPCs (which I know NWN will allow).

What I'm also interested in is Natural Language Processing, so that the player can be communicated with by an AI program. In order for that to happen, it has to be able to read the player's speech, and then probably run some quite complicated calculations. There are resources I'd like to use, one of which is WordNet http://wordnet.princeton.edu/, the other being ConceptNet http://web.media.mit.edu/~hugo/conceptnet/#download. WordNet can be accessed with an SQL database, so I know NWNX will let me get at it. ConceptNet is a Python program with an XML-RPC server, and some implementations in C++/Java/Ruby, so that's a bit trickier.

The documentation for NWNX implies that accessing something like ConceptNet would be possible, but there are only three plugins released. Does anyone know if I could access it, perhaps via C++?

Just how far can I take NWN(X)? I would have liked a full scripting language like Python, but Obsidian's decision to stick with NWScript seems like it will limit me. Basically, I want as much power as possible Smile